Renaissance Art Period

What was the renaissance?

Renaissance art in Italy started depicting more realism in its subject matter and moved toward more naturalism.  While artists focused on religious subject matter, man was now also considered an important part of the world.


Seen as a "rebirth", the Renaissance occured between the 14th Century and 17th Century.  It is divided into the Proto-Renaissance, Early, and High Renaissance, along with its counterpart in the Northern European countries.


Naturalism Naturalism evolved from the development of how artists studied the human form.


Contrapposto Contrapposto is an Italian word, meaning “counterpoise”. This is depicted by the body standing with one hip higher than the other, and with more weight on one foot than the other.


Sfumato This technique was used to blur colors from light to dark so that they combined into a haziness, thus giving the idea of the illusion of space or form.


Chiaroscuro Meaning “light-dark”, it involves the play between color contrasts of light and dark, which creates a three-dimensional effect as well as a heightened emotional intensity.


Linear Perspective & Vanishing Point This was a revolutionary technique, and it gave artists the ability to create new spaces within compositions and elevate the stature of their art.

ARtist #1

Leonardo da Vinci  (1452 – 1519)

ARtist #2

Michelangelo  (1475 – 1564)

ARtist #3

Donatello  (1386 – 1466)

ARtist #4

Raphael  (1483 – 1520)

ARtist #5

Giotto  (c. 1267 – 1337)

ARtist #6

Jan van Eyck  (1390 – 1441)